pixel

Greta Bull

Director, Women’s Economic Empowerment, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Greta oversees a portfolio of investments in gender data and evidence, women’s economic collectives, and livelihoods development for poor women.

Before joining the foundation, Greta worked for 15 years at the World Bank Group, where she served for six years as the CEO of CGAP, a think tank focusing on financial services for the poor. Earlier, she was a manager for Financial Institutions Advisory Services at the International Finance Corporation in Latin America and sub-Saharan Africa, working primarily on issues related to access to finance for the poor.

Greta has more than 20 years of experience in development finance, focusing on small and medium enterprise finance, microfinance, digital financial services, payments, and livelihoods. She has worked with financial services providers, development partners, and policymakers in Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, sub-Saharan Africa, and South Asia. Her clients and partners have included banks, microfinance institutions, mobile network operators, financial technology companies, and major technology firms.

Greta has a master’s degree in public policy from Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government and an undergraduate degree in international studies from the University of Washington.

Blogs

By Greta Bull

By Greta Bull

SESSIONS IN Runway to FIF 2022

Keynote address

Designing the future of gender-intentional financial inclusion

Tuesday | May 17, 2022

17:15 – 17:40 BST (GMT+6)
14:15 – 14:40 EAT (GMT+3)
07:15 – 07:40 EDT (GMT-4)

Register Now